William Floyd House Logo Unveiled
As of July 4, 2003, the General William Floyd House has an official
logo. We developed a number of different possibilities, which
incorporated various elements that were significant to either
the General or his Westernville home. In the end, however, it
was the ink well and quill that we felt best represented the reason
why General William Floyd will be remembered in American history.
The Bicentennial of the General William Floyd House informally
began with a Floyd descendant photo in front of the house, followed
by group tours. Some of the younger descendents had never been
through their forefather’s house and some out-of-town descendents
were also making their first visit.
New Monuments and Plaques
In 1925, the General William Floyd Chapter of the DAR presented
a brass plaque and monument to the owners of the house. The monument
stood relatively obscurely behind the fence. The plaque became
difficult to read from a distance. In 1971, the house was designated
a National Historic Landmark by the Department of the Interior.
A brass plaque commemorating that designation was presented and
affixed to the right side of the front door. In honoring the house
on it’s Bicentennial, we decided to create a monument area
where new plaques, added to the DAR marker, would be more visible
to the public and contain more information. The fence was routed
behind the existing monument and two new limestone monuments have
been placed. A gate offers visitors access to the monument area
so that the plaques may be more easily read.
Under the protection of a large tent on the front lawn of the
General William Floyd House, approximately 200 guests gathered
to listen to dignitaries and descendents as they honored the 200th
anniversary of the General’s home. Descendants wore distinctive
red, white and blue lapel pins. The colors were presented by members
of the Fort Stanwix staff and volunteers. They later entertained
the guests with a number of fife and drum melodies, after which
a formal toast, using wine made at the General William Floyd House,
was given. A reception was held in another tent behind the house
and throughout the evening, guests could explore the candle-lit
interior of the General’s home.
National Park Service Portrait Goes on the Road
During the Bicentennial Reception ceremonies, Steve Czarnecki,
representing the William Floyd Estate on Long Island, presented
an oil portray of the General. The painting is a copy of the Ralph
Earl painting done in 1793. It is part of the archives of the
William Floyd Estate and is on loan to the General William Floyd
House from the National Park Service for one year. Recently the
painting and some interpretive signage was presented to the Western
Town Library, located across the street form the General William
Floyd House. There it will be on display for the next three to
four months. An interpretive program on the portrait will be given
by Jackie and I in the spring.
This year we are planning to develop an informational brochure
for the house. It, no doubt will be a simple prototype that will
evolve into something more comprehensive later.
The General William Floyd Center will open, featuring some preliminary
exhibits and a presentation of what will follow.
The plaques and monuments will be completed in front of the house
and commemorated by a formal dedication.
There will also be a trip planned to the William Floyd Estate
on Long Island